“Why the Fuss?” Explained

by jteaton


“Why the Fuss?” Explained

First-generation anticoagulant rodenticides (FGARs) were developed in the 1940s and are considered “multiple dose” rodenticides, because they typically require multiple feedings by a rodent over time to obtain a lethal dose. Second-generation anticoagulant rodenticides (SGARs) were developed in response to resistance issues reported with the FGARs, primarily warfarin.  CA Department of Pesticide Regulation registered bromadiolone in 1982, brodifacoum in 1983, difethialone in 1997, and difenacoum in 2008. In general, SGARs are more acutely toxic than FGARs because they are designed to be lethal after a single feeding instead of after multiple doses. Since it takes several days for a rodent to die after feeding on an SGAR, rodents may feed on the SGAR bait multiple times before dying. As a result, rodent carcasses may contain residues of SGARs many times over the lethal dose. If a non-target predator feeds on a rodent carcass containing a lethal concentration of an SGAR, the non-target predator can also be impacted by the rodenticide.


One Comment to ““Why the Fuss?” Explained”

  1. I really like your explanation of the different generation of rodentcides. Customers are concerned everyday with a poisoned rat or mouse being consumed by their pets. Communication is very important with customers. Done properly, baiting for rodents will not harm pets. For exterior rat control, baiting is the most effective control of these pests.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: